Connect with us

African Player of the Year 2015 : Vincent Enyeama & Ahmed Musa Missed Out on CAF African Player of the Year 2015

Trending Issues

African Player of the Year 2015 : Vincent Enyeama & Ahmed Musa Missed Out on CAF African Player of the Year 2015

Vincent Enyeama and Mikel Obi at Eagles Camp Breakfast

No Nigerian player made it to the 10-man list for this year edition of  African Footballer of the Year 2015, according to statement releases out by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Duo of Vincent Enyeama and current super eagles captain Ahmed Musa were listed for the 35-man list candidate for the biggest prize in African football, but they were unable to made it to the 10-man list by CAF .

The omission of Nigeria player from the 10-man list by CAF means that the nation need to wait for another years in order for any player to win the coveted award.

The last time Nigeria won the award was 16 years ago, when former Super Eagles captain, Kanu Nwankwo, was voted as the best player on the continent.

Though former super eagles player Vincent Enyeama made it to the final three last year, but due to the nation not to qualified for Africa Cup of Nations in the period under review, the chances of the Super Eagles players were further wea​ke​ned down​.

In the 10-man shortlist published on CAF’s official website, three-time winner, Yaya Toure, is still top on list and he is joined by the likes of André Ayew (Ghana & Swansea), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma) Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund) and Sadio Mané (Senegal & Southampton).

Also, the shortlist for the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) 2015 were also made public

The winner will be decided by votes of the Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF.

READ  Photo News As Nike Unveil New Super Eagles Jersey For World Cup 2018 In Russia

The awards gala will be held on Thursday, 7 January 2016 in Abuja, Nigeria.

African Player of the Year 2015

André Ayew (Ghana & Swansea)

Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia & Valencia)

Mudather Eltaib Ibrahim ‘Karika’ (Sudan & El Hilal)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)

Sadio Mané (Senegal & Southampton)

Serge Aurier (Cote d’Ivoire & Paris Saint Germain)

Sofiane Feghouli (Algeria & Valencia)

Yacine Brahimi ( Algeria & Porto)

Yaya Touré (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester City)

African Player of the Year 2015 ​(​Based in Africa​)​

Abdeladim Khadrouf (Morocco & Moghreb Tetouan)

Baghdad Bounedjah ( Algeria & Etoile du Sahel)

Felipe Ovono (Equatorial Guinea & Orlando Pirates)

Kermit Erasmus (South Africa & Orlando Pirates)

Mbwana Aly Samatta (Tanzania & TP Mazembe)

Mohamed Meftah ( Algeria & USM Alger)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

192,038 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Trending Issues


Popular Posts


Follow me on Twitter



To Top
%d bloggers like this: