#TheList : Senate Confirms Fayemi, Fashola, Lai Mohammed & Others as Ministers | Rotimi Amaechi & Adebayo Shittu’s Screening Deferred

Babatunde Fashola Gistyinka

The senate on Wednesday, has confirmed the nomination of former governor of Ekiti-State, Dr Kayode Fayemi, ex-Lagos-State governor Babatunde Raji Fashola, National Media & Publicity for All Progressive Congress (APC) Alhaji Lai Mohammed ( Kwara), NNPC’s GMD Ibe Kachikwu (Delta) and 14 others as ministers under the cabinet of President Muhammadu Buhari.

Here are the list of others nominees whose appointments were confirmed are Dr Udoma Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom), Dr Ogbonaya Onu (Ebonyi), Audu Ogbe (Benue), Dr Osagie Ehanire (Edo) and Lt. Gen. Abdulrahman Dambazau (rtd) (Kano).
Also confirmed as ministers by the Senate were Chris Ngige (Anambra), Amina Ibrahim Mohammed (Gombe), Suleiman Mohamed (Jigawa) ,Usman Jubril (Nasarawa), Abubakar Malami (Kebbi), Aisha Alhassan (Taraba), Solomon Dalong (Plateau), Kemi Adeosun (Ogun) and Hadi Sirika (Katsina).

This brings the number of ministers waiting to be sworn in by President Muhammadu Buhari to 18, while senate has deferred the screening and confirmation of former River-State governor, Rotimi Amaechi and Barrister Adebayo Shittu (Oyo) .

Senate screens ministerial nominees on October 13, 2015 (Photo Credit: Twitter:)
Senate screens ministerial nominees on October 13, 2015 (Photo Credit: Twitter:)

Amaechi’s screening was deferred due to inability of Committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions, to present its report on petition against him, while Shittu’s screening was deferred due to time constraint.

Although the Senate screened the nominees with specific portfolio, the portfolios of the new ministers will be officially made public when they are sworn in by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The President of the Senate in his remarks, commended all the senators for their quality questions and contributions in the course of the screening.

He congratulated the confirmed ministers but urged them to hold up their own end of the bargain.
“It is not going to be business as usual because we are going to hold them to their words and to their promises,” he said.

READ  Wind of Change: Speaker House of Reps Aminu Tambuwal Defects from PDP To APC

Credit: NAN

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

189,032 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: